Edmunds Named Steelers Rookie of the Year

Steelers safety wins Joe Greene Great Performance Award

Josh Rowntree
December 26, 2018 - 4:25 pm
Pittsburgh Steelers strong safety Terrell Edmunds (34) in action during the game between the Pittsburgh Steelers and the Cleveland Browns at Heinz Field.

Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports


Steelers safety Terrell Edmunds has been named the recipient of the Joe Greene Great Performance Award. 

The award is given annually to the team’s top rookie performer from the season, and is voted on by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America. 

“First, I just want to open up and say how much it is a blessing and an honor to receiver an award (named after) a legend here in Joe Greene. I just want to thank Mr. (Art) Rooney, Mr. (Kevin) Colbert and Coach (Mike) Tomlin use for giving me to opportunity.

“The season might’ve not went the way that we wanted, but we still haver one more game. We’re going to just go out there and do what we can, hopefully get the win and, whatever happens from there, we’re going going to take it and do that.”

Edmunds, thought by some to be a controversial first-round pick in April’s Draft, has made 14 starts for the Steelers this year, making 69 tackles with an interception and a fumble recovery. 

“When I first came in, I just wanted to put everything out there and show (Tomlin) and Mr. Colbert why they drafted me, just go out there and make the plays that came to me. 

“If it was on special teams, if it was on the defensive side of the ball, or anything, just go out there and put 100  percent into what I did.”

While Edmunds has shown some signs of struggle, he has not hit the fabled ‘rookie wall’ at any point. 

“We always talk, in the (defensive backs) room, that we can’t let up. Even if a play happens, we have to come back stronger the next play because people are going to make plays because everybody’s a pro. 

“So we just keep on fighting each day in practice, just work hard in practice, get your extra sprints in. So that’s just how I overcame that.”

Other current Steelers players to receiver the award are JuJu Smith-Schuster, Sean Davis, Bud Dupree, Marcus Gilbert, Maurkice Pouncey and Ben Roethlisberger. 

Hear all of what Terrell Edmunds had to say below.