Mid-Season Championship Night At Lernerville Speedway

Guaranteed Future Starting Spots To Tonight's Winners

Scott Stiller
June 15, 2018 - 2:24 pm
Tyler Dietz No. 27 ProStock Car

Stivason Photos


Sarver, PA (93.7 The Fan) - Friday night is Mid-Season Championship Night presented by McCutcheon Enterprises at Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, Pennsylvania.  Winners of tonight’s features will receive automatic starting spots to some of the biggest events later this season at “The Action Track”.

The Peoples Gas DIRTcar Sprints winner will receive a starting spot to next month’s Don Martin Silver Cup.  The Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Model main event winner gets a start in next Saturday’s Firecracker 100.  The Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modified winner gets a starting spot in the annual Steel City Stampede.  The Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stock winner will find themselves a guaranteed starting spot for September’s Autumn-Motive Fest.

Heading into tonight’s action, A.J. Flick sits atop the Peoples Gas Sprints points standings behind the strength of two feature wins in five tries.  Flick holds a three point advantage over George Hobaugh Jr. and a 9-point lead over third-place Jack Sodeman Jr., the 2016 track champion. Two other drivers to watch this evening are Brandon Matus and Dan Shetler.

Mike Norris is the one to watch tonight in the Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Model division. Norris is red-hot this season, picking up his fourth win last week.  New York native Mike Maresca is in tonight’s field as he gets ready for next week’s Firecracker 100.  Maresca has been bouncing around from track-to-track on both the national and regional level in 2018.

Rex King Jr. is looking to hold onto the points lead in the Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Big Block Modified division.  King Jr. took advantage of a blown tire on leader Brian Swartzlander’s car to pick up his second feature win last week at “The Action Track”.  King Jr. holds a 24-point lead over second-place Garrett Krummert. Swartzlander, who sits fourth in the points, was dominant last week until his tire issue and is looking for his 2nd win of the season.

The Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar/RUSH Pro Stock division is arguably the tightest points battle of all the divisions.  The trio of Tyler Dietz (pictured above), Corey McPherson and Noah Brunell are separated by only 5-points.  All of the drivers have at least one win, with Brunell visiting Terry Bowser victory lane last week for his first career victory.

Adult grandstand admission is $15, $12 for seniors and $10 for students ages 11-17.  Children under 10 get in free.  Pit passes are available for $24 for DIRTcar members and $30 for non-members.

Pit gates open tonight at 4 p.m. with the grandstands opening at 5 p.m.  Racing is set to start at 7:30 p.m. sharp.

Follow 93.7 The Fan: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
Listen to 93.7 The Fan on the Radio.com App - Download Now