Pittsburgh Riverhounds 20th Anniversary

Photo Credit: Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Three Pittsburgh Natives Will Be Inducted Into Pittsburgh Riverhound SC Inaugural Hall Of Fame Class

The Hall of Fame announcement happened at Saturday’s season ticket holder 20th anniversary kickoff event.

March 11, 2019 - 12:42 pm

PITTSBURGH (93.7 The Fan) -  Natives of Belle Vernon, Bridgeville, and Peters Township are three of the five Pittsburgh Riverhounds members to be inducted into the Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC inaugural Hall of Fame class.

Justin Evans, David Flavius, Paul Heasley, Dave Kasper, and John Kowalski were all announced at Saturday’s season ticket holder 20th anniversary kickoff event.

Evans, a native of Peters Township, is a two-time All-League selection, playing six seasons for the club, totaling 101 games with 14 goals and 22 assists.

Related: Riverhounds Establish Hall of Fame To Celebrate 20th Season

Flavius played 183 games for Riverhounds, scoring 58 goals, 25 assists, and is the club-record holder in numerous statistics.

Paul Heasley founded the team on March 11, 1998. Heasley, a native of Belle Vernon, along with Bridgeville native Dave Kasper, won their first-ever playoff game and were awarded USLA-League Organization of the Year honors in 1999. Kasper served as the team’s first-ever Vice President and General Manager.

John Kowalski was the team’s first head coach, leading the team to 63 regular season goals, setting a record that still stands today.

The first class will be inducted on July 12 and will be honored during a halftime ceremony at Highmark Stadium July 13.

It was also announced at the event that Hallmark Stadium will be getting new turf-playing surface and the team unveiled their 2019 kits with a new white jersey and special 20th anniversary season patch.

Follow 93.7 The Fan: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
Listen to 93.7 The Fan on the RADIO.COM App - Download Now