XFL Announces 8 Cities For Revived 2020 Season

Pittsburgh is not on the list

Andrew Limberg
December 05, 2018 - 3:24 pm



PITTSBURGH (93.7 The Fan) - The short-lived XFL of 2001 is coming back in 2020 but don’t expect the professional wrestling influence it had the first time around.

The eight cities that will host teams in the new XFL were announced Wednesday.

At a press event at Met Life Stadium in New Jersey the teams and venues were presented in the following order:

  • New York, Metlife Stadium
  • Dallas, Globe Life Park in Arlington
  • Houston, TDECU Stadium
  • Los Angeles, Stub Hub Center
  • St. Louis, The Dome at America’s Center
  • Seattle, Century Link Field
  • Tampa Bay, Raymond James Stadium
  • Washington D.C., Audi Field

The league started by World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) owner Vince McMahon only lasted one season in 2001 but McMahon believes the revived XFL can succeed a second time around.

Some of the proposed changed are eliminating half time, speeding up the game, taking politics out of the sport and not allowing anyone to play with a criminal record.

McMahon who plans to remain in the background during the XFL’s second go-around says the updated version will be more focused on football.

Related: Column: Can spring football really work? AAF says yes

Oliver Luck, former athletic Director of West Virginia University,  will be the commissioner of the new league. Luck played quarterback for five years in the NFL and is the father of Indianapolis QB Andrew Luck.

The XFL’s website says they have consulted former NFL coaches and players like Jim Caldwell, John Fox and Doug Flutie as well medical experts to help make their version of the game faster and safer.

The inaugural game will be played in early 2020. Another spring league the AAF kicks off in 2019.

Follow 93.7 The Fan: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
Listen to 93.7 The Fan on the Radio.com App - Download Now